MANG 2049, Topic 2

Go Forth and Multiply

In my previous post for topic 2, I briefly explored the positive and negative aspects of anonymity online and concluded that multiple identities was necessary for one who wishes to pursue a career whilst maintaining a personal social online presence. Further exploring into the topic, after reading my peers’ thoughts and comments, I should learn to be more open with the sharing of information and allowing my employer to have a glimpse of my personal life too.

Facebook Days from Giphy

I choose to remain firm with my stance on having multiple identities and would argue, that both anonymity and authenticity can be used effectively to serve our different personal purposes and goals whilst living and working on the web. For example, on one hand it is true that anonymity can bring about problem such as identity theft and cyber bullying, however, on the other I have also discovered that there are also positives associated with the use of pseudonyms in the commercial sectors as reported in an article by Adweek.

With some luck, I also chance upon this interesting video where the founder of 4chan and Canvas Chris Poole’s share his idea of prismatic identity. Further evidence to supports my conclusion and my feelings on the subject.

“We all have multiple identities, it’s part of being human. We’re all multi-faceted people. – Chris Poole”

While there are arguments for and against anonymity online, I do believe that the pros outweigh the cons as long as everyone is well-informed about the risks of those abusing the system and takes the necessary measures to protect themselves online.

Lastly, I would like to end off with an interesting article on the idea of “Reputation Bankruptcy” brought up by Sara. I wonder what future will bring us, if given an option for a “fresh start” in our digital spaces.

(Word Count: 300)

Reference

Heussner, K. (2012). The Internet Identity Crisis. [online] AdWeek. Available at: http://www.adweek.com/news/technology/internet-identity-crisis-137991?page=3 [Accessed 2 Dec. 2014].

Reilly, O. (2011). Chris Poole, “High Order Bit” Talk – Web 2.0 Summit 2011. [online] YouTube. Available at: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=e3Zs74IH0mc [Accessed 2 Dec. 2014].

Zittrain, J. (2010). Reputation bankruptcy. [online] Future of the Internet – And how to stop it. Available at: http://blogs.law.harvard.edu/futureoftheinternet/2010/09/07/reputation-bankruptcy/ [Accessed 2 Dec. 2014].

Commented on:

Sara

Corinne

Standard